Men in Bulletproof

Image

“It’s hard to wait around for something you know might never happen; but it’s harder to give up when you know it’s everything you want.” –Anonymous

I honestly messed up a little today that it is difficult for me to enumerate all the things that I had trouble with. ‘Lessons learned’, as usual. These circumstances weren’t totally destructive to a person’s life. Definitely I complain and rant less as time passes by not just because people around me were too busy to listen, but because I do not find the use of these unessential things in my daily living. Nowadays, I’m trying to focus on what else I can do rather than regret what I could have done in the past- this is it for this day!

The photo is a depiction of my future self; although I considered that ‘that dream of mine’ is already being lived, I am still looking forward that I’m going to make it happen for real (as a professional) when time comes, with God’s grace. This article that I post today is actually about “Campus Journalism: Championing Ethics in Social Media” that I wrote back when I was in high school (Although there were lots of errors and ambiguities that can be found if I actually proofread this from a collegiate viewpoint, I still chose to preserve the way I’ve written it when I was younger). For me, it’s worth sharing because I believe that this is a tiny but sweet appreciation to our passionate young journalists- which can also apply to the role of adults whose expertise is Journalism.

Men in Bulletproof

“… As in war, it is easy to be a sniper and kill somebody from a long distance since the target is not aware of the sniper’s presence until the last minute…”

[quoted from: Responsibility of social media UGNAYAN By Manny L. Garcia (The Philippine Star) | October 28, 2012]

Freedom is a once-in-a-lifetime privilege we were all given access to. As a Filipino under the rule of a democratic country, I inhabit so many chances of expressing myself. Speech communication, public speaking, broadcasting, recitals, and much more. With these actions being disseminated through the public, I should be held responsible enough to face the consequences that lie ahead. Some skills I could have acquired might be listening to sounds few could only hear and viewing such scenes nobody else sees. This is something special because I am a campus journalist.

Internet. Television. Radio. Mobile phones. Four resources out of a myriad count of devices from which updates and information were being looked at. For positive instances, it could either be the root of knowledge, source of inspiration, or means of entertainment to most of the people- but everything has been set with limits. Reflecting on how I perceive a dimension of what is being viewed by the public was just the half of the actual situation. Reminiscent of the ‘Amalayer’ girl’s viral video wherein it garnered higher views on Youtube than the posted videos of their interview on what has really happened. Mon Tulfo’s encounter with Raymart Santiago with his wife Claudine Barretto in an airport wherein the riot between the opposing camps was being recorded yet it is not everyone who knows what happened before the altercation. Posted videos of a traffic enforcer berated by a motorist, and a restaurant cashier being assaulted by a man because of a mistake in asking him his food bill.

Our society has its values slowly depleting. It is a fast-paced world where judgments come hitting from those who are one-sided, living just the half of the truth. Social networking can bring harm, too. While the issue has been depicted, jury is then dictated. Like shots of firearms on its speed unto an inquiry of thrown misconducts against victims of injustice.

As a Campus Journalist, I know what lies ahead. If others cannot be responsible by themselves, I am well-informed that I am skilled to take a lead in conducting them the guidance they need. Lines of defense are just there in case of morality degradation. It is the role of Campus Journalism to remain track in protecting the rights of our fellowmen and providing safety from threatened reputations. We are practiced as responsible citizens, who no matter what and no matter when could risk ourselves and spend our life in service of others. Stakes are risen and we must acknowledge the value in preserving the Human Rights.

Bullets may be fired but the endurance of pain is the strength that we gather from our fellowmen. Social media is a provider of hope and not of despair. Campus journalists boost morality and make them realize what defines dignity. We are the Men in Bulletproof.

Dare to call us in case of emergency.

Categories: Feature Article | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

