Candy Wrappers

Today happens to be so typical. It’s just so unfair if I couldn’t give a simple smile. So here’s a photo of me which, at least on my perspective, shows my gratitude. Something gave me that sweet smile for this day. Candy wrappers! Yes. There were these little things in life that we need to value- No matter how big or small they may come. 

Image

I have this professor in a Communication subject last semester whom I didn’t like that much. One of the psychological reasons on why I just couldn’t appreciate her in class (though my professors are persons with distinctions anywhere in the Laude ranking) was because the papers I’ve worked hard for, were returned outright to my face that if a paper could just speak, it might have said “You failed!”. I was so rejected that I could see the red ink of the pen as spurts of blood splattering on my papers.

The following semester started. One of the subjects I’ve chosen to take was English; only to find out that she would be my professor for the second time. Inexplicably, I felt a glimpse of joy. Before the class had begun, we were asked to introduce ourselves with our names and other information I couldn’t remember anymore. One thing I’m certain of was the line “Something eccentric about me is…” which everyone was required to fill up as the last part in the introduction. I was seated in front so I was one of the first students who were called. I ended it with “Something eccentric about me is… that I am actually a left-handed person but I write with my right hand”. They were amused as if I spoke to entertain them. Sorry guys, but I didn’t think it’s funny. Although I honestly thought of myself as awesome on that part. Now (kidding aside), our professor liked our class so much and we knew it because she was telling us. Here’s to cite some of the eccentricities: production of lizard sound, recitation while sleeping in class, mastery of corny jokes, excess teeth, weird hand gestures, talking while asleep, and a lot more. During class discussions, everyone was witty- a combination of people from light to serious.

We were assigned to do some writing tasks every time. Instead of worrying for the results I might receive, I tried my best to feel laid-back. I chose to be a positive person by thinking that the past had taught me. I would commit the same mistakes unless there would be the proper application of knowledge from what I have learned.

Early this morning, she came in to the room with a basket full of sweets. Candies and chocolates were distributed to all of us. As she discussed the remaining lessons, I could see the glint from her eyes before she immediately gave her usual whimsical remark, ” I am not crying! Why would I cry over you? ” We laughed. I felt some pain in the chest, reminiscent of her instructions during the orientation- that she would be leaving before the year ends; that means by 2014, she’s no longer be the one who’s going to teach us.

Sheets of papers, which were just returned to me a while ago, stunned me as I look through them. I didn’t just pass, I had it perfect. The red pen scrutinized nothing. Marks of it only indicated a fanciful note that appeared to me, not anymore as a bloody commentary, but a sweet cognizance I could ever receive from a mentor. Once again, I got another reason which I could add to my mountain-piled proofs that ‘challenges come before success’. Challenges are actually our friends that will truthfully make us realize our first-hand excellency.

I’d keep this wrappers forever like how I’m going to treasure such a discovery of myself.

It’s neither a wonderful farewell nor a good bye, Ma’am! See you someday 🙂

P.S. I would want to share my essay entitled “Finish Line”, but I can’t. It’s too personal yet I have to say that it really is a striking story of mine.

Categories: Daily Post | Tags: , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

