Escapist No More

Why can’t it be

Just a pathway full of roses

Leading to a sunset view

Where the one you’ve always dreamed of waits~~

KC Concepcion’s Not Like the Movies

Oh, wait. Look who’s here …

Image

Throwbaaaack from the time when I was 14 (turning 15 in less than two weeks).

My aunt took a couple pictures of me v^.^v

Now that I am turning 17 in less than three weeks, I can say that things change like seasons do. Two years had passed, giving me so much to remember- be it happiness, sorrow, excitement, madness, fright… anything. I can’t deny the nostalgia that it brings me whenever I had the chance to reflect.

If you had ever heard of Not Like the Movies sung by KC Concepcion, I guess it’d be easier for you to put your self through the perspective I’m seeing. Technically, I must realize I’m not getting any younger. Prior to this, I’ve found a way to relate a song, a collage, and a life of a young woman who loved fantasizing. She’d gotten so in love with the world created by her mind; that when it’s time to return to reality, she just wouldn’t stop asking why things wouldn’t just fall into their proper places. Why couldn’t the situations be like the ones she had imagined?

Grow up, man. I always tell myself to embrace maturity but now I must say, this is something I can’t earn in a blink of an eye. Age can’t even dictate a person’s maturity level perhaps it’s a factor. Over the years, I’ve fallen, I’ve cried, I’ve got so scared, I’ve planned stepping back, I’ve been defeated… I was wounded, scarred, and eventually healed. That’s a natural cycle, isn’t it?

Well, upon enumerating some of the things I went through, I shall be brave enough to ask myself: Could I be any braver, wiser, and stronger if not because of those experiences which had taught me to keep on going and never get tired of standing up?

I’m your average dreamer
I’m a true escapist
Always expecting a happy ending

– Good bye to this song that will always play on my soundtrack to remind me that change is vital, it keeps us moving.

…because today, I don’t wish for happy ending; yet I look forward for greater possibilities I may encounter along this journey of human life. Extraordinary.

There’s no more of that escapist inside me. I’ve faced tough situations, so I can do it until this story of mine is done. It shouldn’t fade away. I’d keep the fire burning everyday.

Categories: Part of Me | Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

