Unmasking my masks on the way up the ladders of success

psychologistmimi

Unmasking my masks on the way up the ladders of success

Much research in the social sciences field has found that many successful ethnic minorities in the United States feel like impostors just waiting to be found out. It is a sad psychological phenomenon that when faced by so many challenges to rise up from poverty that once success has been achieved, the success leaves a bittersweet taste in one’s mind and soul. Unfortunately, I have at times, been one of those case studies. I have achieved much in life, yet there have been moments, when that sense of being an imposter has creeped into my consciousness. As a matter of fact, I was hit by this imposter feeling very early on in life.

When I went from a public school in the South Bronx, where I was labeled as gifted, to an elite private school in Massachusetts, I was…

View original post 827 more words

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

